Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,897 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 20 gallon vertical Sears Professional oil free compressor, and a sears 1/2 inch impact gun that just doesnt have the oomf it used to, basically have had to resort to using a breaker bar and cheater pipe on occasion to loosen overtightened wheel and other bolts. I've borrowed my neighbor's harbor freight "earthquake" which other than being heavy and inexpensive seems to have much more torque.

Now I'm not a pro and don't play one on MG, so I dont need a pro gun... but definitely need more than i currently have, so recommend away!

·
Registered
1,030 Posts
I have a sears gun as well and it's definitely not enough (~350 ftlbs or something). When I installed my wheel bearings I used (and broke) my buddies IR cordless 20Volt (780ft-lbs reverse torque) gun. The thing was a beast, but the motor ended up seizing. Get the most powerful impact you can find and make sure you oil the thing regularly.

Here are the specs for the IR:
http://www.ingersollrandproducts.com/am ... -impactool" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

I think the IR had enough torque, but if I buy another impact I'll try to find a gun with at least 1000ft-lbs rev. You can never have too much, especially when a breaker is less than ideal (i.e shocks, axle nuts, wheel bearing extractor, etc.)

My 0.02

Also, your airlines make a difference. 1/4" doesn't cut it. I find 3/8" air hose works ok, and flow-through fittings with larger orfices are king!

·
Administrator
12,596 Posts
I have an older CP composite turbo 2.0 the only thing that sux about it is the F&R selector switch is very stiff but if you remove the ball bearing that acts a stop it moves easier although you have to line it up manually.