Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
240 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been building the 10v turbo that came with my 4k for a few months now and I have one question stated above. . the only reason I ask is, there seems to be a debate on which cylinder heads are interchangeable between 2.1 and 2.2 stuff (though I cant really see the reason why) so it had me wondering about my crank dilemma. . . cylinder spacing the same?? how about bearing size? Bentley says the stroke is identical. Its a KH 2.1 that I have already bored out for MC pistons but the crank saw a little bit of abuse and would be cheaper/easier to swap out if I could use a good 2.2 version. what say the real audi community??

·
Registered
240 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
damn no one wants to touch this one?? If I had a few infront of me I could just measure them all. not even a cast vs forged opinion out there?? can't even get a flame out of this thread :D

·
Registered
210 Posts
Only difference is that early % cyl engines with short 136mm rods have smaller big end size then later ones with 144mm rods

·
Registered
11,268 Posts
i have Mc2 pistons and crank, would you need those for your project?

·
Registered
240 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
interesting. not the difference i expected but good information to know for sure. . . that KH seems to be a middle of the road transition. . . 2.1 but no solid lifter. . . blah blah technical blah. . . . i'll measure the rods when i get home. . . is that the rod ratio difference i have read little blurbs about?? 136vs144? later/longer rods better??

·
Registered
11,268 Posts
westco4k said:
and i may be interested in that crank depending on what i already have
sure hit me up

·
Registered
240 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·