Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I just want to say that if it werent for the Audi I5 engine, I wouldnt be who I am today. It all started 8 years ago, I was a freshman in highschool and my brother was a senior with some older friends in their early 20s. One such friend bought a 1990 Audi 90q20v from the owner of Dubwerx in Cincinnati. This was my first introduction into the actual car scene.

It all started when he took me on a joy ride on a couple of common curvy/hilly roads in the local area, and I immediately fell in love with the car and the engine. I began to spend alot of time around him, working on the car, and after it got totaled I helped him with his gen2 RX7. Once I was a Junior I went to the local Vocational school for auto mechanics for my last two years in highschool. Upon graduating I secured a job at a local BMW shop, the reason I knew about it was because the owner had a Pearl CQ that was nearly MINT, and me and my friend were always trying to convince him to sell it.

Backtracking a little, my friend totaled his first 90q, which was burgundy in color, and afterwards he started to try to find a parts car. He kept complaining there was so much damage to repair, and I explained to him that the one he totaled IS his parts car, and he ended up picking up a Zermat 90q (or some kind of darkish grey color).

Basically, if I hadnt went for that joyride and fallen in love with the Audi I5 engine, I never would have wanted to go to school for Automechanics, I never would have worked at the BMW shop, and I never would have enlisted in the Army at the recruiters office across from the BMW shop. I wouldnt be who I am today, and wouldnt have the things that I have without these "little" incidents.

How has being an Audict or I5 nut changed your life?

·
Registered
238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·