Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
2,692 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everybody,
I just signed up. I see quite a few familiar people here, but for those of you that don't know me...
I'm Mike Gough, I drive a low budget turbocharged 1988 VW Quantum syncro (VW "R22") I've been hanging out on the Q list for over 3 years now (sheesh where does the time go?) I started out by turbocharging the JT motor in 2001, installed EFI (megasquirt) on it in 2002, and swapped in a mildly modified MC1 motor in 2003. It has the following...
220k mile MC1 engine, new rings, bearings, seals etc. Stock bore/pistons
Port matched head
K&N open element air filter
42lb injectors (actual flow rate is about 47lb at 55psi base pressure)
Elgin re-ground cam- 270 degree intake/260 degree exhaust
Autotech valve springs (high performance or some-such)
Tubular exhaust header
K26/27 hybrid turbo
3" downpipe with cutout for the track
Probably some other stuff I'm forgetting.
Anyway, since the suspension used to really suck, I haven't done anything except drag racing with it. In August it went 13.9 @ 98mph in the quarter mile, with 6psi boost pressure. My coil wouldn't fire with any more than 6psi so that's as far as I got that night. Haven't had a chance to dyno it yet, but I'll do that this summer for sure.
Over Christmas break (I'm in college right now) I took care of the suspension- new bushings, Shine racing 300# springs front, H&R Group G 285# springs rear, Koni sport shocks all around, so hopefully I'll do some driving schools and time trials sometime soon.
This summer calls for body work and paint, so it doesn't look like a pile of horse manure anymore. It's getting painted Nogaro blue, with a black/blue interrior to match.