Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the audi scene with my 90 sedan 20v as my DD. But I've been racing subarus for about 7 years and have a 1998 RHD STi V.4 type RA as my weekend toy/ occasional driver. From what I can tell the subaru and longitudal audi quattro systems are almost the same layout. Both having the motor mounted in front of the front axle while having the awd center diff and front diff being built into the transaxle. Does anyone have any technical drawings of the two systems? From what I can tell they are 95% the same with no advantage to either system.

·
Registered
689 Posts
Biggest difference is in build materials, Audi used metal instead of building them out of glass.

·
Registered
4,953 Posts
The advantage of Audi is the torsen diff rather than a viscous coupling. They both have their advantages and disadvantages but it's hard to beat the torsen in drivetrain lossses and reaction time to changing conditions.

Plus as mentioned the Audi stuff tends to be much more reliable at higher output. But an sti 6 speed is pretty strong also.

So yes, layout is similar but the mechanicals are not.

·
Registered
2,289 Posts
Ive owned an older impreza and many older Audies. Although the Subaru was ridiculously reliable,the Audies always seemed to feel more robust,drivetrain wise. If i had a job to destroy cars by beating them to death,id say the audi would outlast the subie.

·
Registered
2,529 Posts
The one nice thing about a viscous coupling is it will transfer 100% torque when the opposite axle has 0% traction. However, if you do that long enough they overheat and blow up.

·
Registered
640 Posts
123quattro said:
The one nice thing about a viscous coupling is it will transfer 100% torque when the opposite axle has 0% traction. However, if you do that long enough they overheat and blow up.